back to What's on

Erin Helyard & David Greco Live Stream

16 Nov 2020

What do you get when you ask the musician Limelight magazine dubbed ‘Australia’s most engaging soloist’, Erin Helyard, to choose his favourite artistic collaborators, and to hand-pick his own program of early-music repertoire? The vibrancy of Handel, the majesty of Bach, matched with an exhilarating and engaging collection of rarely heard Baroque gems. Welcome Musica Viva into your home – on your TV, computer, or tablet, as you enjoy this online concert, performed just for you by Australia’s leading early-music specialists.

Erin Helyard is known to audiences as the acclaimed Artistic Director of Sydney-based Pinchgut Opera, where he often conducts from the keyboard and is praised for his expressive and virtuosic technique. For Musica Viva, Helyard has drawn from his encyclopaedic knowledge of Baroque composers to assemble an array of rare Baroque gems. Also starring on this online broadcast is acclaimed Baritone David Greco, who’s enjoyed a longstanding musical friendship with Helyard here in Australia and has received accolades for his musicianship and commanding stage presence. He’s established a remarkable career as a soloist overseas, where he’s worked with ensembles such as the Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra, and the Freiburger Barockorchester. Joining him is his brother, violinist Matt Greco, who’s worked for the last decade as a soloist, concert master and core member of some of the world’s leading period instrument ensembles.

Together with Anton Baba (viola da gamba), Hannah Lane (harp) and Rafael Font (violin), they’ll perform music by Bach, Handel and their musical forefathers, who all lay the rich foundation for the music of the Baroque. Streamed live from the City Recital Hall in Sydney, join the Musica Viva community from your home, and reconnect with live music in this eclectic and engaging program captured for digital broadcast. Watch in real time and celebrate the joy of music-making or enjoy at your leisure for up to 48 hours following the performance.

Download concert guide here.


David Greco baritone
Erin Helyard harpsichord / organ
Matt Greco violin
Rafael Font violin
Hannah Lane harp
Anton Baba viola da gamba

*Erin Helyard appears courtesy of Pinchgut Opera


TUNDER Canzona in G major
SCHMELZER Sonata pastorale à 3
BUXTEHUDE Quaemadmodum
JS BACH Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin from Cantata BWV125
HANDEL Adagio from Sinfonia in B-flat major, HWV 339
BIBER Nisi Dominus
KRIEGER Fantasia in C major
SCHMELZER Variations on La bella pastora
BRUHNS De Profundis


You will receive an email confirmation with the link to watch the concert online. If you’re watching on your phone or computer we recommend using headphones or connecting to external speakers.

Please read our Frequently Asked Questions to learn more.

Event Dates

  • OFFSALE 16 Nov 2020 7:00 PM

Online tickets are no longer on sale.

Ticket Information

Ticket sales close 30 minutes prior to the start of the concert.

Ticket holders will receive a link to watch the concert 24 hours prior to the concert. 

Please contact our Box Office team at [email protected] or on 1800 688 482 if you require assistance.