back to Melbourne Int'l Chamber Music Competition

Piano Trios

Amatis Piano Trio


The Amatis Piano Trio has emerged as one of the leading piano trios among the new generation, receiving enthusiastic responses from audiences and critics worldwide. The trio was named 'BBC New Generation Artists 2016- 2018', following major successes at the 2015 International Parkhouse Award in Wigmore Hall, the 2016 International 'Joseph Joachim' Competition in Weimar and the 2016 Dutch Classical Talent Award at the Royal Concertgebouw, Amsterdam. For the 2018/2019 season the trio has been selected as 'ECHO Rising Stars' by the European Concert Hall Organisation following their nomination by the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Festspielhaus Baden-Baden, Konzerthaus Dortmund and the Philharmonie Cologne. 

Bukolika Piano Trio


The Bukolika Piano Trio is a younger-generation ensemble already recognized for its intensely expressive music making, personal character and exceptional virtuosity. One of its most recent achievements was being selected for the St John's Smith Square Young Artists Scheme 2017/2018. The Trio has performed in many renowned concert halls in Europe and the UK, including at St John’s Smith Square, St Martin in the Fields and Krakow Philharmonic Hall. In June 2017, the group made its debut on BBC Radio 3. All the ensemble members are currently studying at the Royal Academy of Music in London. 

Clarendon Trio


The Clarendon Trio comprises three musicians who met during their time at the Australian National Academy of Music. As individual and chamber musicians they have had many notable successes in national competitions, as well as high profile performances throughout Australia as soloists in their own right. The Trio has performed extensively and to great acclaim throughout the Melbourne area, rapidly establishing a strong reputation for its compelling and intelligent musical approach. The Clarendon Trio is excited to build on its growing patronage and to include the widest variety of repertoire in its future concert appearances. Collaborations with leading young artists and composers are planned for future seasons. 

Merz Trio


Formed in January 2017 as a collaboration between pianist Lee Dionne, violinist Brigid Coleridge, and cellist Julia Yang, the Merz Trio is dedicated to original programming and artistry at the highest level. The trio was the recipient of the Judges’ Special Recognition Award at the 2017 Plowman Competition and was a finalist for a 2017 Tarisio Young Artists Grant for its show, Macbeth. Currently based in New York City, the trio takes inspiration from the ‘Merz’ found-object collages of the German artist Kurt Schwitters. In keeping with Schwitters’ wide-ranging artistic vision, the Merz Trio's projects promote dialogue between seemingly disparate musics, texts, and artifacts, weaving and juxtaposing the trio's repertoire within differing artistic worlds of visual art, dance, theater, and culinary arts. 

Mosa Trio


The Mosa Trio’s international career took off when it won numerous awards, including second prize at the 31st FNAPEC, second prize and honorary prize for the most beautiful performance of the contemporary piece at the International Orlando Competition, the ‘Supernova’ award in Brussels, and the third prize, audience award and young jury award at the Concours International de Musique de Chambre d’Illzach. Since its foundation in 2010, the Trio has played in major venues in the Netherlands and Belgium, as well as at many festivals. Masterclasses have included lessons from Menaham Pressler, Susan Tomes, Marc Steinberg and Andreas Frölich. Currently, the group is studying with Trio Wanderer at the Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional de Paris. It is also an Aspirant Ensemble with the European Chamber Music Academy. 

Trio Gaon

Germany/South Korea

The Munich-based Trio Gaon was formed in 2013. The three musicians completed their chamber music degrees at the Munich Conservatory with Friedemann Berger and Christoph Poppen. The young ensemble has won prizes at influential competitions. Most recently, it was awarded the first prize and two special prizes at the renowned international chamber music competition, ‘Premio Trio di Trieste’ (2017). It has also won third prize at the international Joseph Haydn Chamber Music Competition in Vienna (2015) and first prize with the highest ranking from the Kulturkreis Gasteig e.V. (2014). The trio has performed regularly in Germany, France, Belgium, Austria and Korea. 

Trio Marvin


The Berlin-based Trio Marvin was founded in 2016 in Leipzig by pianist Vita Kan, cellist Marius Urba and violinist Marina Grauman. Only a few months later, it was awarded first prize at the ‘Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Competition 2017’ in Berlin. All three trio members are prize winners of various international competitions, pursuing their own busy concert careers both in Germany and abroad. Originating from Russia and CIS Countries, they have inherited a deep understanding of the music of Shostakovich and other USSR-born geniuses. In September 2017, Trio Marvin won second prize and two special prizes at the Concorso Internazionale ‘Premio Trio di Trieste’ in Italy. 

Trio Sōra


Distinguished by a powerful onstage unity and a rare sensibility, the Trio Sōra was born of a burning passion for chamber music shared by close friends at the Paris Conservatoire. They have vivaciously launched into full flight, not unlike the significance of the Native American name Sōra: a bird singing while spreading its wings. Winner of the Parkhouse Award and a prizewinner in international competitions, the Trio Sōra has played in countries including the USA, Belgium, England, Finland, Germany, Latvia and Switzerland. They have been invited to perform at venues including the Philharmonie de Paris and the Wigmore Hall in London, and at festivals such as the Festival International d’Art Lyrique d’Aix-en-Provence, where they shared the stage with the great violist Tabea Zimmerman.