back to FutureMakers

Aura Go

Aura Go, Musica Viva FutureMaker 2018-19 artist, enjoys an active and multifaceted musical life, performing as a soloist, chamber musician, lied pianist and conductor. She has performed concertos from Bach to Rautavaara with many of Australia’s professional orchestras and been a guest artist at numerous international music festivals including the Melbourne International Arts Festival and Edinburgh Festival.

In 2017 Aura appeared as soloist in Aarre Merikanto’s third piano concerto with the Tapiola Sinfonietta for the 2017 PianoEspoo Festival and gave solo and chamber performances at the Kuhmo and Kauniainen music festivals.

Aura’s regular chamber music partners are Japanese pianist Tomoe Kawabata in the KIAZMA Piano Duo and Finnish-Swedish mezzo-soprano Erica Back.

"For the last nine years, I’ve been living overseas, first in the USA, and currently in Finland. FutureMakers offers me an extraordinary chance to build a professional life in my home country. I’m passionate about education, about contemporary music, about becoming an advocate for an artform I love, both with my work, and as writer and spokesperson."

 A keen advocate of new music, Aura enjoys collaborating with composers and has presented numerous world premieres in the USA, Australia and Finland. She has given first performances of works by composers including Gordon Kerry, James Rushford, Garth Neustadter, Tiina Myllärinen and Kate Neal. Her work as conductor/pianist for the premiere of Neal’s large-scale multidisciplinary work Semaphore was awarded Best Instrumental Performance at the 2016 Australian Art Music Awards.

After studies in Australia and the Yale School of Music, Aura is currently a doctoral candidate at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, where her artistic research addresses the aspect of creativity in classical music performance and explores ways in which musicians can achieve a more open, spontaneous creative state when practicing and performing.

Matthias Schack-Arnott

Matthias Schack-Arnott, Musica Viva FutureMaker 2018-19 artist, is a Melbourne based percussive artist working in performance, composition and collaborative contexts.

Described by The Guardian as 'sonically and visually exquisite’, Matthias’ solo work explores unique approaches to percussive performance, often involving the development of new instrumental set-ups built in collaboration with architects, engineers and technicians.

His work has been presented by Melbourne Festival, La Comete (France), The Unconformity (Tasmania), Arts House, Supersense – Festival of the Ecstatic (Arts Centre Melbourne), MPavilion, Spor Festival (Denmark), Spot Festival (Denmark) and Next Wave (2012 & 2014).

Matthias has received the 2016 Melbourne Prize for 'Music Development’ Award, the 2014 Green Room Award for 'Outstanding Work by an Emerging Artist’ and multiple Australian Art Music Awards (with Speak Percussion).

"FutureMakers gives me access to extraordinary people, artists, thinkers, entrepreneurs, brilliant minds of all types, working alongside me to help expand and refine my skills, giving me the opportunity to create something career defining, that will set the tone and scale of my work for the next chapter of my professional life, and ultimately create a sustainable arts practice as an independent artist making new work."

At the age of 21 Matthias was invited to be the Artistic Associate of Speak Percussion. He is a key artist in the creative team and a performer in almost all of Speak’s projects nationally and internationally.

As a guest artist Matthias appears with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Malaysia Philharmonic Orchestra, Exo-Tech, ELISION, Australian Art Orchestra, Synergy, Chamber Made Opera and Nick Tsiavos Ensemble. As an interpreter, collaborator and improvisor Matthias has worked with a diverse range of musicians including Steve Reich, John Zorn, Steven Schick, Tony Buck, Kimbra, Sophia Brous, Spiritualized, The Necks, Jim Denley, Chris Corsano, Erkki Veltheim, Fritz Hauser, Brett Dean, Anthony Pateras, Johannes Kreidler, Richard Barrett, Jon Rose, Matthew Shlomowitz, Robin Fox, Thomas Meadowcroft, Liza Lim, Michael Pisaro and Juliana Hodkinson.

FutureMakers 2018-2019 activity included a number of professional development intensives, bringing together the participants, FutureMakers mentors and industry leaders for discussions and learning opportunities. Lead mentors involved in the initiative include Chris Kotur (Leader In Residence, Leadership Victoria), Professor Margaret Barrett (The University of Queensland), Caroline Sharpen (Principal, Sharpen Creative Industries Consulting) and Michaela Coventry (independent producer).

Monash University, through the Monash Academy of Performing Arts and Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, is the FutureMakers Education Partner, supporting the creative development of Aura and Matthias’ performance projects and having the artists and mentors in residence in the School of Music, creating an environment for the sharing of knowledge under the guidance of Professors Paul Grabowsky and Cat Hope with FutureMakers Artistic Director (2015-2019) Genevieve Lacey.


One Space One – Aura Go

  • Clare Britton, Director
  • Kristina Chan, Choreographer
  • Madeleine Flynn, Composition mentor
  • Tomoe Kawabata, Performance partner
  • Kezia Yap, Composer

Shimmer States – Matthias Schack Arnott

  • Bosco Shaw, lighting designer
  • Nick Roux, sound artist/instrument designer


  • Professor Margaret Barrett, University of Queensland
  • Karlin Love, University of Queensland

Presenters 2018-2019

Adele Schonhardt, Musica Viva

Alison Beare, UKARIA

Amanda Duthie, Adelaide Film Festival

Amelia Morgan-Hunn, Musica Viva

Anton Andreacchio, Jumpgate Virtual Reality

Antony Hamilton, Chunky Move

Bruce Gladwin, Back to Back Theatre

Cameron Lam, APRA

Catherine Haridy, Catherine Haridy Artist Management

Chloe Hooper, author

David Stiff, Collingwood Football Club

Emma Valente, THE RABBLE

Fiona Winning, Sydney Opera House

Geoff Cobham, Patch Theatre

Gianna Rosica – chartered accountant

Gideon Obarzanek, Chunky Move

Imogen Corlette – Media, Communications and PR Director

Jude Gun, Dark MOFO

Kara Ward, independent producer

Kate Davis, THE RABBLE

Katrina Sedgwick, ACMI

Keith Saunders, Keith Saunders Photography

Liza Lim, Composer

Lucy Guerin, Lucy Guerin Inc

Lyle Chan, composer

Lynette Nixon, PwC Australia

Madeleine Flynn and Tim Humphrey, audio conceptual artists

Max Delaney, Melbourne Festival

Naomi Edwards, Patch Theatre

Patricia Cornelius, Melbourne Workers Theatre

Paul Mason, Australia Council

Richard Ward, artist and physchotherapist

Robin Fox, independent artist

Scott Rankin, big hART

Thora Klein, TK Lifestyle solutions

Tilman Robinson, composer and sound designer

Tim Matthies, Musica Viva 

Toby Chadd, ABC Classic

Vanessa Picken, Comes with Fries

Wesley Enoch, Sydney Festival

Zoe Morrison, autho

Aura Go

An introduction to Aura Go.

Matthias Schack-Arnott

An introduction to Matthias Schack-Arnott.