back to Artists

Lambert Orkis

Lambert Orkis

Lambert Orkis piano

Lambert Orkis’s substantial career includes over a decade of concerts as the preferred recital partner of cellist Mstislav Rostropovich. Likewise, his celebrated duo with violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter has appeared to capacity audiences worldwide, and their many recordings and DVDs for Deutsche Grammophon include award-winning sonata cycles by Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms. Lambert Orkis is also noted for his interpretations of contemporary works by friends such as George Crumb and Richard Wernick.

He appears regularly at prestigious festivals throughout the world, including Salzburg and Lucerne. He performs as a member of the Kennedy Center Chamber Players and the Smithsonian’s Castle Trio (on period instruments), and is Principal Keyboard of the National Symphony Orchestra and Professor of Piano at Temple University in Philadelphia. The Federal Republic of Germany bestowed upon him the Cross of the Order of Merit in acknowledgment of his accomplishments.


Hear him in concerts 1, 2, 5 & 6

Concert 1 | SCHUMANN Piano Quintet in E-flat major, op 44 (with Goldner String Quartet)
Concert 2 | DVOƘÁK Piano Quintet no 2 in A major, op 81 (with Elias Quartet
Concert 5 | POULEC Sextet for piano and winds, FP 100 (with Arcadia Winds
Concert 5 | BEETHOVEN Cello Sonata no 3, op 69 (with Amanda Forsyth, cello) 
Concert 6 | CRUMB A Little Suite for Christmas

"Orkis performed with kaleidoscopic eloquence" LA Times